Keyed? Here's how you fix it

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keyed? Here's how you fix it

Figured I'd do a writeup on this since I'm pretty pumped about the results. This is a compilation of ideas/info I took from a bunch of people on different forums and it seemed to work out pretty good.

I'll start off with saying I have zero body experience. I own a random orbital buffer and I use it in conjunction with clay baring, polishing, and waxing my car every year. (likely what most of you do), so if I can do this, you can do it.

so lets start with the beginning. For those of you who don't remember, my car got keyed front to back...here are the pictures to refresh you're memory.

Now, these were DEEEEP, you could feel it with your fingers, never mind your fingernail. So lets get into it.

What do you need?

Painters tape
    a very fine paint brush (something for like model cars or something of that sort)
    Touch up paint
    Clear Coat
    Rubbing Compound
    Cheese Cloth
    Polishing compound
    "Quixx scratch repair kit"
    Cold Beer

Step 1

Wash your car, give it a good wash to make sure all the dirt and grime is out of the area. Make sure you dry the car really well to.

Step 2

Get your painters tape...now this part is the most tedious, and extremely crucial. Tape the scratch very carefully so that only the scratch is exposed. Small pieces of tape work well for this as you are going to have to follow the contour of the scratch to a "T" with only the white part exposed. If some of your key marks split into two scratches, you are going to have to do this repair in two steps, you'll get that second scratch in a weeks time. DO NOT just glob your paint across because you are lazy and want to cover both scratches because they are extremely close to one another...it will look like sh*t, take your time and do it right.

Tape around the area now, so you don't get over spray on the rest of your "good" paint
    Attached Files